Our Village Council

Ashcroft's Mayor and Council were elected during the General Municipal Election on October 10, 2018; they are to serve a four year term.  The newly elected Council swore their Oaths of Office at the Inaugural Council Meeting that took place on November 5, 2018.  Below is a brief biography of our Council members.

Mayor - Barbara Roden

Mayor Roden was born in the Lower Mainland of BC and lived in Ottawa and Great Britain before moving to Ashcroft in 1997.  She studied journalism and is currently the editor of The Ashcroft-Cache Creek Journal where she was bestowed the Jack Webster Award for Community Reporting in 2018. She previously served one term as Councillor and elected as Mayor 2018, and is on the board of the Southern Interior Local Government Association.  Mayor Roden is a long-time volunteer within the community including serving on the Board of the Winding Rivers Arts & Performance Society. She enjoys acting and directing in addition to her role on the Board.  She is also an accomplished author and editor of supernatural fiction, and is a two-time World Fantasy Award-winner and four-time nominee.

Contact Mayor Roden: mayor@ashcroftbc.ca



Councillor - Marilyn Anderson

Born and raised in BC's Fraser Valley, Marilyn Anderson worked in the real estate industry as a Leasing Coordinator and in the provincial government in multiple positions ranging from financial and administrative services to staff training and supervisory roles. Councillor Anderson pursued a successful real estates career in 2003 selling property in Ashcroft  and surrounding area. In late 2011 she permanently moved to the interior where she accepted a position as Facility Manager operating the Work-BC office in Ashcroft. Councillor Anderson believes in lifelong learning and has achieved various certificates including: personal development, mental health and wellness as well as being a certified bookkeeper for 40+ years. Throughout her career, Councillor Anderson was presented with awards  publicly recognizing her outstanding and dedicated service by multiple employees. Councillor Anderson is an active and enthusiastic member of the community who gives back as often as possible. She enjoys painting in acrylic and oils and gains inspiration from Ashcroft’s historic elements, people and scenery. Serving Ashcroft as a Councillor, she focuses on the needs of the community and envisions Ashcroft to grow into a place with enhanced economic development, the pursuit of sustainable jobs, active tourism, increased affordable housing and senior housing options, and improved health services.

Contact Councillor Anderson: manderson@ashcroftbc.ca

Councillor - Jonah Anstett

Born and raised in Ashcroft, Jonah Anstett has been a member of the Ashcroft Fire Rescue for the last 20 years and now serves as a Safety Officer. He is a member of the Ashcroft Firefighters Association, enjoys Fire Prevention and assists with new member orientation at fire department. For him, it has always been a learning environment in the Fire department whether it was from senior firefighters, outside training agencies or from the Juniors. Serving his first term as a member of Council, Councillor Anstett looks forward to serving the community of Ashcroft for years to come. These past months as a Councillor, have provided a new appreciation for municipal operations and what the staff and employees do for the community. Councillor Anstett is excited to try and help the community from a different perspective.

Contact Councillor Anstett: janstett@ashcroftbc.ca

Councillor - Nadine Davenport

Nadine Davenport moved to Ashcroft from the lower mainland, 10 years ago. Councillor Davenport owns and operates UniTea Cafe & Lounge which has been operating on Railway Ave in downtown Ashcroft for 5 years. Prior to opening her own business as an entrepreneur, Councillor Davenport was the Supervisor at the Ashcroft Pool for 5 years. Councillor Davenport has many talents, she is a singer, songwriter and entertainer and was one of founding members of Winding Rivers Arts and Performance Society.
Before moving to Ashcroft, Councillor Davenport attended Capilano University where she took Arts and Entertainment Management courses and later worked for Tourism Vancouver.
This is Councillor Davenport's first term on Council and she looks forward to the next 4 years by contributing in positive ways to celebrate and uplift Ashcroft's Arts and Recreation Sector and to further Ashcroft's Economic Growth & Tourism.

Contact Councillor Davenport: ndavenport@ashcroftbc.ca

Councillor - Deb Tuohey

Deb Tuohey has been a resident of Ashcroft since May 1977. For the past 20 years she has owned the Ashcroft Bakery and Coffee Shop and is now looking forward to a semi-retirement enabling her to spend time with her 9 grandchildren. Councillor Tuohey supports the BC Lung Association volunteering with the Association for a over year and later participating twice in the 200 km Bike trek. She has spent many years as a member of the Ashcroft Motorcycle Club. Councillor Touhey is an avid volunteer earning the 10-year pin for her volunteering work for the BC Cancer Society. She is passionate about gardening, is an artist and has exhibited her drawings and painting at the Ashcroft Art Club annual art show. She has dabbled in jewelry making, stained glass, pottery, sewing and smocking. This is Councillor Tuohey's first term on Council, she is enjoying her experience working with her team as well as in the working groups. Councillor Tuohey believes the council has accomplished many things despite the challenges created by COVID, the wildfires and the extreme heat. She is keen to continue working with the staff and fellow Councillors for the betterment of the community.

Contact Councillor Tuohey: ctuohey@ashcroftbc.ca